Don't miss




Hollande depicted as Hitler

Read more


Boko Haram crisis: Militants forced from north eastern Nigerian town

Read more


Syria: Wresting control of Kobani from IS group

Read more


A who's who of the 'Bettencourt trial'

Read more


Golan Heights on edge...

Read more


Eugene Kaspersky: Cyber attacks on critical infrastructure 'just a question of time'

Read more

#THE 51%

Equality in the workplace: Bridging the gender pay gap

Read more


The culture stars trying to save the world

Read more

#TECH 24

Technology helping visually impaired people

Read more

Hamilton continues domination in Hungary

Latest update : 2008-08-02

McLaren's Lewis Hamilton and Heikki Kovalainen will start Sunday's Hungarian Grand Prix in pole and second position after their success in the qualification race. Hamilton's closest competitor Felipe Massa was third fastest.

World Championship leader Lewis Hamilton qualified fastest on Saturday and will start Sunday's Hungarian Grand Prix in pole position.

The English driver spearheaded a McLaren one-two setting a time of 1min 20.899sec, just 0.2 seconds ahead of team-mate Finn Heikki Kovalainen.

He will bid to become the first driver to win three races in a row since Michael Schumacher triumphed in the United States, French and German grands prix two years ago.

Ferrari's Felipe Massa was third but team-mate and reigning champion Kimi Raikkonen could only finish sixth, over half-a-second adrift of Hamilton.

BMW's Robert Kibica overcame difficult conditions and will start in fourth while Toyota's Timo Glock bagged his best qualifying position of fifth.

Germany's Nick Heidfeld was the biggest casualty of the first qualifying session as the BMW driver could finish only 16th, waving his arm in anger and frustration as he crossed the line.

Heidfeld was joined by usual suspects Giancarlo Fisichella and Adrian Sutil of Force India with Honda's Rubens Barrichello and Williams racer Kazuki Nakajima also missing out.

Nico Rosberg completed a disappointing afternoon for Williams as he failed to take to the track in the second session. Others going out were the Toro Rosso duo of Sebastien Bourdais and Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull's David Coulthard and Honda's Jenson Button.

Date created : 2008-08-02