Coming up

Don't miss




"Todos somos Americanos"

Read more


Sydney siege: Australians show solidarity with Muslims

Read more


"Charlie's Country" director Rolf de Heer on the contemporary Aboriginal condition

Read more


Hunt for Joseph Kony and LRA militants continues

Read more


‘China needs Tibetan culture of peace,’ says Dalai Lama

Read more


Immigration in France: Hollande slams scaremongers

Read more


'Charlie's Country' director Rolf de Heer on the contemporary Aboriginal condition

Read more


Egypt: Gay community fears government crackdown

Read more


Taliban school massacre: At least 140 dead in Peshawar assault (part 2)

Read more

Nasser al-Attiyah, Marc Coma win Dakar's opening stages

Video by FRANCE 24

Latest update : 2009-01-05

Aboard his BMW, Nasser al-Attiyah won the opening stage of the Dakar Rally. Spain's Marc Coma of KTM won the motorcycle stage. KTM's Cyril Despres is way behind after suffering a puncture.

AFP - Qatar's Nasser Al-Attiyah, driving a BMW, clinched the opening stage of the 2009 Dakar Rally on Saturday as defending champions Mitsubishi struggled.
Attiyah, the reigning world rally-raid champion, dominated the 371km special stage from Buenos Aires, winning in a time of 2hr 36min 15sec.
Volkswagen filled the next three places with former world rally champion Carlos Sainz (2min 17sec off the pace) taking second, South Africa's Giniel De Villiers (2:40) in third and Mark Miller of the United States (4:21) in fourth.
Luc Alphand, the 2006 champion, was the best-placed Mitsubishi driver in fifth place (4:44) while his French compatriot, and defending champion Stephane Peterhansel, was sixth (4:54).
Peterhansel is bidding for a 10th crown to add to his six on a motorcycle and three in a car.
He won the Dakar in 2007, the last time the gruelling event was staged.
But the 2008 edition was cancelled at the last moment after the murder of four French tourists in Mauritania by Al-Qaeda-linked terrorists, an act that prompted race organisers to switch the Dakar to Argentina and Chile, 7,000km away from the Senegalese capital.
Japan's Hiroshi Masuoka, the 2002 and 2003 champion, endured a miserable opening day after experiencing engine problems with his Mitsubishi.
Spain's Marc Coma of KTM won the opening motorcycle stage while fellow KTM rider Cyril Despres, who won the event in 2005 and 2007, lost 41min 18sec on his rival after suffering a puncture.
"The problem with this special was the distance," said Coma.
"I paced myself, waiting for the moment. On this route, there was little work to do with the bike, so I tried to ride my race to avoid problems.
"I saw that Despres had problems with his back wheel after filling up at control point two. After that, I tried to open up the gap."
This year's race, which ends in Buenos Aires on January 17, features 540 competitors from 50 countries and covers 9,000 kilometres spread over 13 stages - three in Chile and 10 in Argentina.  
Sunday's second stage runs from Santa Rosa to Puerto Madryn with a 237km special.

Date created : 2009-01-03