Don't miss




Mali: Twelve people die in suicide attack against MNLA

Read more


Libya violence: At least four foreigners among those killed in hotel attack

Read more


Michelle Obama was not blurred out on Saudi TV

Read more


New Escalation: Cross-Border Shelling Between Israel, Lebanon (part 2)

Read more


New Escalation: Cross-Border Shelling Between Israel, Lebanon (part 1)

Read more


A Lebanese prison 'run by Islamists', and children tear-gassed in Kenya

Read more


Pegida, the movement dividing Germany

Read more


Film Show: 'The Imitation Game', 'Phoenix' and the French Oscars

Read more

#TECH 24

'The Imitation Game': A Tribute to Alan Turing, the Father of Computers

Read more

Sebastian Vettel bags first victory of the season

Latest update : 2009-04-19

A rainy GP in Shanghai on Sunday turned fortuitous for Red Bull-Renault drivers Sebastian Vettel (photo) and Mark Webber, who claimed the two top spots. Jenson Button for BrawnGP was third with teammate Rubens Barichello finishing fourth.

AFP - Sebastian Vettel won the Chinese Grand Prix on Sunday ahead of teammate Mark Webber, handing Red Bull Racing their first Formula One victory.

The German, who started on pole, dominated a race run in torrential rain from start to finish.

Britain's Jenson Button, who won the first two races of the season in Australia and Malaysia, was third in a Brawn with teammate Rubens Barrichello fourth.

The McLarens of Heikki Kovalainen and Lewis Hamilton were fifth and sixth respectively with Timo Glock seventh in his Toyota and Sebastien Buemi rounding out the points in eighth in his Toro Rosso.

But there was more misery for Ferrari as Felipe Massa failed to finish and Kimi Raikkonen ended in 10th.

1. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) 1hr 57mins 43.485secs

2. Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull) at 10.970

3. Jenson Button (GBR/Brawn) at 44.975

4. Rubens Barrichello (BRA/Brawn) at 1:03.704

5. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/McLaren) at 1:05.102

6. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/McLaren) at 1:11.866

7. Timo Glock (GER/Toyota) at 1:14.476

8. Sebastien Buemi (SUI/Toro Rosso) at 1:16.439

9. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Renault) at 1:24.309

10. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Ferrari) at 1:31.750

Date created : 2009-04-19