Don't miss




France launches website to counter jihadist propaganda

Read more


Hollande depicted as Hitler

Read more


Boko Haram crisis: Militants forced from north eastern Nigerian town

Read more


Syria: Wresting control of Kobani from IS group

Read more


A who's who of the 'Bettencourt trial'

Read more


Golan Heights on edge...

Read more


Eugene Kaspersky: Cyber attacks on critical infrastructure 'just a question of time'

Read more

#THE 51%

Equality in the workplace: Bridging the gender pay gap

Read more


The culture stars trying to save the world

Read more

Japan to be the first Asian country to host a World Cup in 2019

Video by FRANCE 24


Latest update : 2009-07-29

The International Rugby Association has confirmed that England will hold the Rugby World Cup in 2015, and that Japan will be the first Asian country to ever host the competition in 2019. The next World Cup in 2011 will be hosted by New Zealand.

AFP - England will host the 2015 Rugby World Cup, while Japan will stage the 2019 edition, the International Rugby Board (IRB) announced here on Tuesday.
The 26-man IRB council voted to ratify a recommendation from the World Cup board that England and Japan should host the next two tournaments.
The English Rugby Football Union beat competition from South Africa and Italy after submitting a bid that outlined how England's "low risk, high return" package is projected to generate 300 million pounds for the IRB, who rely on the tournament for 98 percent of their income.
On top of the 80 million pounds (131 million dollars) tournament fee, the "mature" UK market would attract a further 220 million pounds in commercial returns from broadcasting, sponsorship and merchandising.
That figure is understood to be at least 20 percent more than the bids from either South Africa or Italy and 50 percent greater than France generated from the 2007 World Cup.
The 2015 World Cup will run from September 4 to October 17, when the final will be played at Twickenham.
Matches will be staged in 10 cities and the 12 stadiums chosen include Wembley, Manchester United's Old Trafford, Arsenal's Emirates Stadium, Liverpool's Anfield and Leeds's Elland Road, while the Millennium Stadium in Wales is the only venue being used outside England.
The last time England hosted the tournament was in 1991, when Will Carling's team were beaten in the final by Australia.
Hosting the 2015 Rugby World Cup is estimated to be worth 2.1 billion pounds to the British economy.
The tournament forms a central plank of Britain's so-called "decade of sport", which also includes the 2012 Olympics, the 2013 Rugby League World Cup, the 2014 Commonwealth Games and potentially the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Date created : 2009-07-28