Coming up

Don't miss




"Cloakroom Vestiaire Obligatoire" a tender and hypnotic performance by Tilda Swinton and Olivier Saillard.

Read more


Learning the language of love

Read more


Burkina Faso: Calls for probe into 1998 murder of journalist

Read more


Is this the end of Hong Kong's 'Umbrella Movement'?

Read more

#THE 51%

France marks 40th anniversary of abortion laws

Read more

#TECH 24

Virtual insanity? Artist to 'experience life' through Oculus Rift headset for 28 days

Read more

#TECH 24

What does the future hold... for music?

Read more


David LaChapelle on ditching celebrity to criticise consumer culture

Read more


Lebanon's Shebaa, a village caught in the crossfire

Read more


Injured Ribery makes the cut, Vieira left out


Latest update : 2010-05-12

Despite his knee injury, Bayern Munich star Frank Ribery was named in Raymond Domenech's squad to face the Faroe Islands on August 12. Toulouse midfielder Moussa Sissoko secures his first cap, while Patrick Viera has been left out.

AFP - France coach Raymond Domenech has sprung a surprise by naming Bayern Munich midfielder Franck Ribery in his 22-man squad for the World Cup qualifier with the Faroe Isles in Torshavn on August 12.

Ribery is still recovering from a knee injury and, having last trained on July 12, indicated recently he was not yet match fit.


Meanwhile former midfield marshall Patrick Vieira has not made the squad.

The 33-year-old France skipper has already resumed training with his club Inter Milan but, despite nursing an injured thumb, appears to be paying the price for an apparent lack of form.

Making his return to the squad after a seven-month absence, Vieira was uninspiring in France's 1-0 defeat to Nigeria in a June 2 friendly.

The Frenchman also failed to impress Domenech in Inter's friendly against Monaco last week.

France have an eight-point deficit to group 7 leaders Serbia although 'Les Bleus' have played two games less.

The winners of each group qualify automatically for the World Cup finals in South Africa next summer, with the best runners-up being forced into a play-off.



Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Lyon), Steve Mandanda (Marseille), Cedric Carrasso (Bordeaux)

Defenders: Eric Abidal (Barcelona/ESP), Julien Escude (Sevilla/ESP), Patrice Evra (Manchester United/ENG), Rod Fanni (Rennes), William Gallas (Arsenal/ENG), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal/ENG), Sebastien Squillaci (Sevilla/ESP)

Midfielders: Alou Diarra (Bordeaux), Lassana Diarra (Real Madrid/ESP), Yoann Gourcuff (Bordeaux), Florent Malouda (Chelsea/ENG), Moussa Sissoko (Toulouse), Jeremy Toulalan (Lyon), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich/GER)

Forwards: Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea/ENG), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/ESP), Thierry Henry (Barcelona/ESP), Andre-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse), Loic Remy (Nice)

Date created : 2009-08-03