Don't miss




Rise of populism: Could far-right leader Le Pen be France's next president?

Read more


Countdown to Brexit: 'The eyes of history are watching'

Read more


'Brexit: Day One'

Read more


Charity begins on Twitter

Read more


Famine as a weapon of war: 20 million lives at risk in Africa, Yemen (part 1)

Read more


Famine as a weapon of war: 20 million lives at risk in Africa, Yemen (part 2)

Read more


Video: Putin building bridge from annexed Crimea to mainland Russia

Read more


South Korea: K-pop girl band encourage plastic surgery

Read more


Karl Ove Knausgaard: The Master of the literary selfie

Read more

Top 10 drivers to earn points in new scoring system

Text by News Wires

Latest update : 2009-12-12

Formula One has approved a new scoring system for the 2010 season that will see the top 10 drivers all earn points and the race winner take a maximum tally of 25 points.

REUTERS - Formula One approved a new scoring system on Friday with points extended to the top 10 drivers in a record-equalling 19-race 2010 season that will start and finish in the Middle East.

The International Automobile Federation (FIA) said its world motor sport council had agreed the new system that will reward race winners with 25 points rather than the 10 on offer at present.

The change, following the expansion of the starting grid to 13 teams from 10, would not have altered the outcome of the past season won by Brawn GP and Britain’s Jenson Button but it would have given points to some drivers who failed to score.

"It’s a great idea," Button, who collects his champion’s trophy at a gala dinner in Monaco later on Friday, told BBC radio. "It’s nice that you get five points over second for winning."

"That’s important because we all love winning races. I won six races this year and I got just two more points (than the second-placed finisher in the race)."

Under the new system, agreed by teams and Formula One stakeholders before being put to the FIA, the race runner-up will get 20 points with 15 for third. The remainder will be allocated 10-8-6-5-3-2-1.

The current format awards points to the top eight in a 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 sequence but had been criticised for failing to put a premium on winning.


Abu Dhabi

The season will start in Bahrain on March 14 and end at Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina circuit, which made its debut this year as the season-ender, in Nov. 14.

A provisional calendar had listed Abu Dhabi as the penultimate race before Brazil but that race in Sao Paulo will now take the penultimate slot on Nov. 7.

South Korea will make its Formula One debut with a new coastal circuit, due to be finished in July, on Oct. 24 subject to the facilities passing an FIA inspection.

Canada also returns on June 13 after a year’s absence with the calendar expanded from the 17 races this year to equal the record 19 held in 2005. Britain’s July 11 race at Silverstone is on the same day as the soccer World Cup final in South Africa.

Formula One will have four new teams next year after the withdrawal of Toyota and BMW, whose team will continue as Sauber.

The FIA said experienced former drivers will be added to the pool of permanent stewards called on to officiate at races. The move had been advocated by some in the sport after controversial decisions.

"There will no longer be a non-voting chairman and each group of stewards will elect their own chairman amongst themselves for each race," the FIA said.

"Utilising video and radio exchanges, they should aim to reach decisions very efficiently."

The FIA will also appoint an F1 ambassador for each race to liaise with the national sporting authority.


Date created : 2009-12-12