Coming up

Don't miss




Burkina Faso: Calls for probe into 1998 murder of journalist

Read more


Is this the end of Hong Kong's 'Umbrella Movement'?

Read more

#THE 51%

France marks 40th anniversary of abortion laws

Read more

#TECH 24

Virtual insanity? Artist to 'experience life' through Oculus Rift headset for 28 days

Read more

#TECH 24

What does the future hold... for music?

Read more


David LaChapelle on ditching celebrity to criticise consumer culture

Read more


Lebanon's Shebaa, a village caught in the crossfire

Read more


French MPs debate whether to recognise Palestine

Read more


All dogs may go to heaven after all

Read more


Group A

Text by Allaoua MEZIANI

Latest update : 2010-01-10

Group A teams have the privilege of playing in Angola‘s capital, Luanda, save for the last match, between the Eagles of Mali and the Flames of Malawi, to be played in Cabinda.

Group A: Algeria, Angola, Mali, Malawi

Algeria, the only team in the group to have qualified for the 2010 World Cup, are undoubtedly the hot favourites in this pool. But it is best not to jump to conclusions about the outcome. Angola have the home advantage and are playing in their fourth cup. They are also going to draw on their experience as one of five African teams taking part in the 2006 World Cup in Germany. Mali, whose star player is Fred Kanouté, reached the final of the CAN in 1972 and came third in 1994 and 2004. Malawi have played in the CAN only once, in 1984, and did not get past the first round. Though they are also unlikely to win the cup this year, they will no doubt feel confident after their impressive win over title holders Egypt in the qualifying stage.


The favourites: Algeria, Mali.

The nicknames: The Desert Foxes (Algeria), the Palancas Negras or Black Antelopes (Angola), the Eagles (Mali), the Flames (Malawi).

The matches (GMT):

Sunday, Jan. 10: Angola-Mali (4pm)

Monday, Jan. 11: Algeria-Malawi (1:45pm)

Thursday, Jan. 14: Algeria-Mali (4pm) and Angola-Malawi (6:30pm)

Monday, Jan. 18: Angola-Algeria (4pm) and Malawi-Mali (4pm, in Cabinda)

Date created : 2010-01-09