Coming up

Don't miss




"Cloakroom Vestiaire Obligatoire" a tender and hypnotic performance by Tilda Swinton and Olivier Saillard.

Read more


Learning the language of love

Read more


Burkina Faso: Calls for probe into 1998 murder of journalist

Read more


Is this the end of Hong Kong's 'Umbrella Movement'?

Read more

#THE 51%

France marks 40th anniversary of abortion laws

Read more

#TECH 24

Virtual insanity? Artist to 'experience life' through Oculus Rift headset for 28 days

Read more

#TECH 24

What does the future hold... for music?

Read more


David LaChapelle on ditching celebrity to criticise consumer culture

Read more


Lebanon's Shebaa, a village caught in the crossfire

Read more


Vettel denies Webber pole in Melbourne

Text by News Wires

Latest update : 2010-03-27

Germany's Sebastian Vettel clocked the fastest time Saturday to deny his Red Bull team-mate and home favourite Mark Webber pole position in Sunday's Australian Grand Prix. Ferrari's Fernando Alonso will start in third position.

AFP- Red Bull-Renault's Sebastian Vettel claimed pole position on the starting grid Saturday for Sunday's Australian Grand Prix.
The German beat off his Red Bull teammate Mark Webber to take his seventh career F1 pole.
Vettel clocked a fastest lap in the third and final qualifying stage of one minute 23.919 seconds, just 0.116sec ahead of Australian Webber.
Ferrari's two-time world champion Fernando Alonso of Spain was third fastest and will start on the inside of the second row of the race grid with reigning world champion Jenson Button.
Ferrari teammate Felipe Massa was fifth quickest just ahead of German Mercedes GP driver Nico Rosberg.
Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher in a Mercedes GP will start on the fourth row of the grid alongside Brazilian Rubens Barrichello.
The shock failure in the qualifying session was former world champion Lewis Hamilton, who missed out on the final stage of qualifying.
The British McLaren Mercedes driver was 11th fastest in the second qualifying stage in 1:25.184 and missed out on the top 10 cars into the third and final stage by 0.062secs.

Date created : 2010-03-27


    Alonso claims season's first championship in Bahrain

    Read more