Don't miss




Video: San Cristobal, Venezuela's tinderbox

Read more


Rebuilding attacked churches in Niger, and illegal fishing in Iran

Read more

#THE 51%

The extraordinary tale of the Egyptian mother who lived as a man

Read more


Film Show : 'Suite française', 'Shaun the sheep' and 'A perfect man'

Read more


Strait of Hormuz: a smuggler's paradise

Read more


Facebook tracks you, even if you are not a user

Read more


2017 presidential election: a three-horse race?

Read more


Milk shake-up: Protests as EU ends dairy quotas

Read more


Iraq: Sunni militias fight alongside Peshmerga fighters

Read more


Bastareaud excluded from next month’s rugby internationals

Text by News Wires

Latest update : 2010-10-29

France coach Marc Lievremont (pictured) has ruled Mathieu Bastareaud out of the squad's forthcoming internationals, saying the Stade Français player "doesn't do enough to be competitive in an event like the World Cup".

AP - France rugby coach Marc Lievremont has omitted Mathieu Bastareaud from his squad for next month's internationals, sending a strong warning to the Stade Francais center with the World Cup looming next year.

Lievremont says he's counting on Bastareaud for the World Cup but wants him to improve his physical condition by training more consistently.

Lievremont told a press conference that Bastareaud "doesn't do enough to be competitive in an event like the World Cup.''

Lievremont picked Dimitri Szarzewski in his squad of 31 players even though the Stade Francais hooker risks a lengthy ban following a headbutting incident.

France plays Fiji on Nov. 13 in Nantes, followed by games against Argentina in Montpellier and Australia at the Stade de France.

Forwards: (17): Thomas Domingo (Clermont), Jérôme Schuster (Perpignan), Luc Ducalcon (Castres), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Guilhem Guirado (Perpignan), William Servat (Stade Toulousain), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Français), Romain Millo-Chluski (Stade Toulousain), Lionel Nallet (Racing-Métro), Pascal Papé (Stade Français), Julien Pierre (Clermont), Julien Bonnaire (Clermont), Thierry Dusautoir (Stade Toulousain, cap.), Alexandre Lapandry (Clermont), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Sébastien Chabal (Racing-Métro), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz)

Backs: (14) Morgan Parra (Clermont), Dimitri Yachvili (Biarritz), Damien Traille (Biarritz), François Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Fabrice Estebanez (Brive), Yannick Jauzion (Stade Toulousain), David Marty (Perpignan), Aurélien Rougerie (Clermont), Marc Andreu (Castres), Julien Arias (Stade Français), Yoann Huget (Bayonne), Maxime Médard (Stade Toulousain), Alexis Palisson (Brive), Jérôme Porical (Perpignan)

Date created : 2010-10-27