Don't miss




‘Mexico will not finance US wall,’ foreign minister says

Read more


African nations need to prepare for potential return of thousands of jihadists

Read more


DR Congo former child soldiers awarded $10 mn in damages in landmark ruling

Read more


Website roots out "Rotten Apples"

Read more


Putin's press conference, Alabama election, One Planet Summit, Brexit Phase II, Disney & Fox

Read more

#TECH 24

WorldRemit: Helping migrant workers send money back home

Read more


The challenges awaiting the new leader of South Africa's ANC

Read more


Bangladeshi PM calls violence in Myanmar 'unacceptable'

Read more


Was 2017 the worst year for the environment?

Read more

India recall Vijay for Sri Lanka Tests

© AFP/File | India batsman Murali Vijay plays a shot during the three-day tour match between India and WICB President's XI squad at the Warner Park stadium in Basseterre, Saint Kitts, on July 14, 2016


Selectors recalled experienced opener Murali Vijay to India's Test squad Monday for the first two matches of a three-Test series against Sri Lanka which starts next month.

The right-hander has recovered from a wrist injury that forced him to miss India's recent tour of its island neighbour, when Virat Kohli's side crushed the Sri Lankans 3-0.

Left-handed Abhinav Mukund makes way for the 33-year-old Vijay in what is the only change to India's Test squad from the one fielded against Sri Lanka.

Ace spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are joined by India's new spin king, 22-year-old Kuldeep Yadav, who has impressed since taking four wickets in his Test debut against Australia in Dharamsala in March.

Ashwin and Jadeja have been rested from India's limited-overs side after selectors decided to give younger bowlers a chance in the run-up to the 2019 World Cup.

Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar will lead the hosts' speed attack.

The squad for the third and final Test will be named later, with Indian media reporting that Kohli could be rested for the game and the subsequent limited-overs series before India embark on a gruelling tour of South Africa.

India and South Africa are scheduled to play three Tests, six ODIs and three T20s from early January to late February.

The first India-Sri Lanka Test takes place in Kolkata from November 16-20.

The sides travel to Nagpur for the second match, which starts on November 24. The final Test will be played in Delhi between December 2-6.

Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

© 2017 AFP