No Trezeguet on France coach's list

France coach Raymond Domenech left David Trezeguet off of his provisional squad for the Euro 2008. The real surprise is the inclusion of Saint-Etienne striker Bafetimbi Gomis on the 30-man list. Gomis scored 16 goals in the French league.


Former World Cup and European Championship winner David Trezeguet will play no part in Euro 2008 after being left out of France's provisional squad.


France coach Raymond Domenech, who has had a difficult relationship with Trezeguet, did not pick the Juventus striker in a 30-man list announced on Sunday.


Seven names will be dropped before the May 28 deadline to name the final 23-man squad for the June 7-29 tournament in Austria and Switzerland.


A member of France's 1998 World Cup and Euro 2000-winning squads, the 30-year-old Trezeguet has scored 34 goals in 71 internationals, third on his country's all-time list behind Thierry Henry and Michel Platini.


But Domenech has called on Trezeguet only five times since the 2006 World Cup final, which France lost to Italy on penalties.


"If you decide to pick four or five centre forwards, you don't have that many options and you have to make choices," Domenech told a news conference.


"It's never easy to wake up having to cross names from a list."


Instead of Trezeguet, Domenech picked St Etienne forward Bafetimbi Gomis. Scorer of 16 Ligue 1 goals this season, Gomis is the only real surprise on the list and one of two uncapped players, along with reserve goalkeeper Steve Mandanda.


Trezeguet, who scored 20 goals for Juventus this term, has been pushed further down the pecking order by Olympique Lyon's 20-year-old striker Karim Benzema, Ligue 1's top scorer with 20 goals and now an automatic choice for Domenech.


France were drawn with Italy, the Netherlands and Romania in Group C.





Goalkeepers: Gregory Coupet (Olympique Lyon), Sebastien Frey (Fiorentina), Mickael Landreau (Paris St Germain), Steve Mandanda (Olympique Marseille).


Defenders: Eric Abidal (Barcelona), Jean-Alain Boumsong (Lyon), Francois Clerc (Lyon), Sebastien Squillaci (Lyon), William Gallas (Arsenal), Julien Escude (Sevilla), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Philippe Mexes (AS Roma), Willy Sagnol (Bayern Munich), Lilian Thuram (Barcelona).


Midfielders: Alou Diarra (Girondins Bordeaux), Lassana Diarra (Portsmouth), Mathieu Flamini (Arsenal), Claude Makelele (Chelsea), Jeremy Toulalan (Lyon), Patrick Vieira (Inter Milan).


Forwards: Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Hatem Ben Arfa (Lyon), Karim Benzema (Lyon), Sidney Govou (Lyon), Djibril Cisse (Marseille), Samir Nasri (Marseille), Bafetimbi Gomis (St Etienne), Thierry Henry (Barcelona), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich).

Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning