US sanctions entities linked to Pakistan's AQ Khan

The US State Department has sanctioned 13 individuals and three firms linked to Pakistan's rogue nuclear scientist Abdul Qadeer Khan, who proliferated nuclear technology to Iran, Libya and others.


AFP - The State Department Monday unveiled sanctions against 13 people and three firms implicated in the nuclear proliferation network set up by Pakistani scientist Abdul Qadeer Khan.

"The Department of State announced that sanctions will be imposed on 13 individuals and three private companies for their involvement in the A.Q. Khan nuclear proliferation network," it said in a statement.

"We believe these sanctions will help prevent future proliferation-related activities by these private entities, provide a warning to other would-be proliferators, and demonstrate our ongoing commitment to using all available tools to address proliferation-related activities," it added.

"While we believe the A.Q. Khan network is no longer operating, countries should remain vigilant to ensure that Khan network associates, or others seeking to pursue similar proliferation activities, will not become a future source for sensitive nuclear information or equipment," it said.

In the statement, it added that sanctions "have been imposed" under the Nuclear Proliferation Prevention Act (NPPA) against Selim Alguadis, Kursad Zafer Cire, Muhammad Nasim ud Din, EKA Elektronik Kontrol Aletleri Sanayi ve Ticaret A.S., ETI Elektroteknik Sanayi ve Ticaret A.S., Muhammad Farooq, Paul Griffin, Peter Griffin, Abdul Qadeer Khan, Shamsul Bahrin bin Rukiban, Buhary Seyed Abu Tahir, and Shah Hakim Shahnazim Zain

It also said sanctions have been imposed under Export-Import Bank Act (EXIM) against the same people firms mentioned above as well as Daniel Geiges, Gotthard Lerch, and Gerhard Wisser.

Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning

Take international news everywhere with you! Download the France 24 app