Skip to main content

A second stage win for both Coma and Peterhansel on stage six

Spanish biker Marc Coma and France’s Stephane Peterhansel both clocked up their second stage victories of the rally on Thursday. But Peterhansel’s win on stage six between Antofagasta and Iquique will not get him a tenth title.


No day seems to be the day for Marc Coma. The Spaniard KTM biker won Tuesday's stage before losing over 40 minutes on Wednesday over a tyre problem and then bouncing back to clinch a second victory on Thursday.

Between Antofagasta and Iquique, the Dakar title holder prevailed with a 10-minute lead over France’s Cyril Despres (KTM) and Portugal’s Helder Rodriguez (Yamaha).


In the overall standings, Coma is still lagging over an hour behind Depres, whose consistent performance has seen him firmly hold on to the leader’s spot since the starting line in Buenos Aires. Second-placed Francesco ‘Chaleco’ Lopez is 42 minutes behind.

Peterhansel ahead of the Volkswagen drivers

Meanwhile, in the car category, France’s Stephane Peterhansel (BMW) won the sixth stage ahead of Volkswagen drivers Carlos Sainz, Mark Miller and Nasser Al-Attiyah.

Nine-time winner Peterhansel will not however be winning a tenth title after losing over
two hours on Wednesday due to engine problems.


Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning

Page not found

The content you requested does not exist or is not available anymore.