Skip to main content

Despres, Al-Attiyah take last stage win before rest day in Antofagasta

French biker Cyril Despres (KTM), leader in the motorcycle race standings, won the seventh stage between Iquique and Antofagasta on Friday. In the car race, Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah (Volkswagen) claimed his first victory in this year's race.



Cyril Despres has hammered the nail into the coffin. The French biker extended his overall lead in the race with a win in the seventh stage - the longest one of the rally - between Iquique and Antofagasta. Spain’s Marc Coma finished second, 29 seconds behind Despres.

The 2007 title winner will be able to enjoy the day of rest on Saturday in Antofagasta as he now leads by over an hour in the standings ahead of Coma.

Sainz still leader


In the car race, Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah (Volkswagen) clinched his first stage win of the rally ahead of France’s Stephane Peterhansel. In the standings, Al-Attiyah has reduced the gap by four minutes with the leader, his Spaniard teammate Carlos Sainz. With seven stages to go, the Qatari driver trails by 11 minutes on ‘El Matador’.

Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning

Page not found

The content you requested does not exist or is not available anymore.