Skip to main content

Romania, Bulgaria blocked from joining EU's passport-free Schengen zone

1 min

France and Germany blocked bids from fellow EU members Bulgaria and Romania to join the European Union's passport-free, 25-nation Schengen zone on Tuesday, saying the move would be "premature".


AFP - France and Germany have decided to block Bulgaria and Romania from joining Europe's passport-free 25-nation Schengen travel area next year, a European Commission spokesman said Tuesday.

French Interior Minister Brice Hortefeux and German counterpart Thomas de Maiziere told the European Commission in a letter that it was "premature" to let them enter Schengen in March 2011, said spokesman Michele Cercone.

Allowing a country to join Schengen must be agreed by members states by unanimity.

In their letter to European home affairs commissioner Cecilia Malmstroem, the two ministers cited shortcomings in efforts by Bulgaria and Romania to battle corruption and organised crime, Cercone said.

Romania and Bulgaria joined the European Union in 2007.

The Schengen area includes 22 of the EU's 27 members plus Iceland, Switzerland and Norway.


Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning

Page not found

The content you requested does not exist or is not available anymore.