Tour de france

British cyclist Chris Froome wins 100th Tour de France


British cyclist Chris Froome won the centennial Tour de France on Sunday. Colombia's Nairo Quintana came second in the overall race and Spain's Joaquim Rodriguez third. However Germany's Marcel Kittel won the 21st and final stage of the race.


Britain’s Chris Froome was crowned champion of the 100th edition of the Tour de France as Germany’s Marcel Kittel won the 21st and final stage on Sunday.

Team Sky’s Froome, the winner of three stages, claimed his maiden yellow jersey with a winning margin of 5min 03sec on second-placed Colombian Nairo Quintana of Movistar.

Race debutant Quintana, who moved up to second place thanks to his maiden stage win at the summit finish of Annecy-Semnoz on Saturday, secured the race’s white jersey for the best young rider and the best climber’s polka dot jersey.

Slovakian Peter Sagan of Cannondale won the points competition’s green jersey for the second successive year.

Argos sprinter Kittel ended Briton Mark Cavendish’s hopes of a fifth consecutive win on the Champs Elysees when he outsprinted the Omega-Pharma sprinter and German Andre Greipel of Lotto in a thrilling dash for the line.

It leaves Kittel, with four stage wins, as the top sprinter of this year’s race.


Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning