Skip to main content

Djokovic beats Murray again to win sixth Australian Open title

Paul Crock, AFP | Novak Djokovic picked up his fifth Australian Open title with a straight-sets defeat of Andy Murray on Sunday

Serbia's world number one Novak Djokovic beat Britain's Andy Murray in straight sets (6-1, 7-5, 7-6) at Melbourne Park on Sunday to equal Roy Emerson's record of six Australian Open titles.


The defending champion was at his ruthless best under the lights at Rod Laver Arena, mauling Murray in the baseline duels and closing out the match in two hours and 53 minutes.

Murray succumbed to his fifth loss in five Australian Open finals, and fourth against the Serbian world number one, who claimed his 11th grand slam title to match the totals of Rod Laver and Bjorn Borg.

Djokovic is now firmly established as the dominant force on the Melbourne hardcourt, after downing Jo-Wilfried Tsonga to win his first major title in 2008, beating Rafael Nadal in an epic final in 2012 along with his four wins over Murray in 2011, 2013, 2015 and now 2016.

The world number one also extended his Grand Slam winning streak to 21 matches, and he has not lost a match at the majors since he was defeated by Stan Wawrinka in last year's French Open final at Roland Garros.

Another Murray heartbreak

Djokovic took the first set in less than 30 minutes, twice breaking Murray’s serve as he steamrolled over his long-time rival.

The Serb went two sets up after winning an 80-minute battle for the second set, leaving Murray with too much to do.

Having been dragged into a tiebreak in the third set, Djokovic raced 6-1 ahead and sealed the title on his third match point with an ace down the centre.

Defeat for Murray means the Briton now has the unwanted distinction of becoming only the second man in the Open Era to lose five Grand Slam finals at any one major


Page not found

The content you requested does not exist or is not available anymore.