Cricket: Bangladesh retain injured Tamim for S. Africa ODIs

Dhaka (AFP) –


Bangladesh on Thursday retained opening batsman Tamim Iqbal in their squad for the three-match one-day international series against South Africa despite an injury concern.

A hamstring injury forced Tamim out of the second Test beginning Friday at Bloemfontein but team physiotherapist Thihan Chandramohan was hopeful he would recover in time for the ODI series which starts October 15.

"Following the first Test match Tamim underwent an ultrasound scan which demonstrated a grade 1 hip muscle strain," Chandramohan said in a statement.

"These findings coupled with his worsened clinical signs mean that he will be unavailable for selection for the second Test.

"If his recovery goes to plan, then we are hopeful that he will be fit for the first ODI on 15 October."

Tamim pulled his muscle during a three-day practice match at Benoni last month and did not appear fully fit during Bangladesh's massive 333-run defeat in the first Test at Potchefstroom.

Batting at number five rather than his usual opener's position, he made 39 runs in the first innings. It was the first time in his Test career that he could not open the innings.

He scored a duck in the second innings.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan also returned to the ODI side after taking a break from the Test series.

Batsman Nasir Hossain and wicketkeeper Liton Das were recalled, with rookie all-rounder Saifuddin the only uncapped player in the 15-member squad.

Pace bowler Shafiul Islam, batsman Mosaddek Hossain and left-arm Sanjamul Islam, who were part of the squad that played in the ICC Champions Trophy in England, have been excluded.

The ODI series will start in Kimberly before Bangladesh play their next two ODIs at Paari and East London on October 18 and 22.

Bangladesh will also play two Twenty20 internationals during their month long tour.

Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rhaman, Nasir Hossain, Mehidi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, and Saifuddin