Talking Europe

Russian influence, reforms, corruption: Challenges for Europe's Eastern partners

You’re probably well aware that Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine aren't EU member states. They are, however, part of what's known as the Eastern Partnership: a programme set up in 2009 as a Swedish- and Polish-backed initiative. The six countries have been reviewing the partnership, in light of a top-level summit in Brussels, with issues of human rights, corruption, and the war in Ukraine among the big talking points.


Produced by Isabelle Romero, Anais Guerard and Roxane Runel.

Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning