Gatland names Hill, Jenkins as co-captains for Wales tour

London (AFP) –


Dragons lock Cory Hill and Cardiff Blues flanker Ellis Jenkins were Tuesday named as co-captains for Wales's Test matches against South Africa and Argentina next month.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has rested all but two players -- wing George North and back-row forward Ross Moriarty -- who were original British and Irish Lions selections in New Zealand last summer.

It means the likes of regular Wales skipper Alun Wyn Jones, number eight Taulupe Faletau, flanker Justin Tipuric, fly-half Dan Biggar, wing Liam Williams and full-back Leigh Halfpenny are among those who have been given a break.

Gatland, whose side finished as Six Nations runners-up, has named one uncapped player, Cardiff Blues scrum-half Tomos Williams, in a 31-man squad.

Wales face the Springboks in US capital Washington on June 2, then travel to South America for appointments with the Pumas on June 9 and 16.

Experienced Bath lock Luke Charteris has earned a recall, while it is a major opportunity for Jenkins, who is considered by many as a future Wales skipper, to make his mark.

Gatland said: "We have picked Cory and Ellis as co-captains. They are both leaders and have experience captaining at regional level, so this is an opportunity for them to build on that.

"This summer is another step on our 2019 World Cup path and a great opportunity to build on recent campaigns."

Wales squad

Backs (13)

Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Patchell (Scarlets), Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Josh Adams (Worcester), Hallam Amos (Dragons), Steff Evans (Scarlets), George North (Northampton), Tom Prydie (Scarlets)

Forwards (18)

Rob Evans (Scarlets), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Tomas Francis (Exeter), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Elliot Dee (Dragons), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Bradley Davies (Ospreys), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Luke Charteris (Bath), Cory Hill (Dragons, co-captain), James Davies (Scarlets), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues, co-captain), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)