Skip to main content

Groenewegen wins second consecutive stage at Tour de France

Marco Bertorello, AFP | Netherlands' Dylan Groenewegen (C) celebrates as he crosses the finish line ahead of Germany's Andre Greipel (R) to win the eighth stage of the 105th edition of the Tour de France cycling race between Dreux and Amiens.

Dylan Groenewegen won a second consecutive stage at the Tour de France when he sprinted to the finish on Saturday, and Greg Van Avermaet kept the overall lead for a fifth consecutive day.


Dutch rider Groenewegen beat Andre Greipel and Fernando Gaviria to the line to win Stage 8 in more than four hours.

Four-time winner Chris Froome remained over a minute behind Van Avermaet, a support rider for BMC top rider Richie Porte.

The mostly flat 181-kilometer (112-mile) ride from Dreux to Amiens comes before the three-week races faces one of its most difficult legs when it hits the treacherous cobblestones.

Sunday's Stage 9 will take riders over 15 cobbled paths scattered along 21.7 kilometers of the 156.5-kilometer course from Arras to Roubaix, near the Belgian border.


Page not found

The content you requested does not exist or is not available anymore.